Jennifer Rexford

2024 IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal recipient and Panelist on Evolution & Future of Network Technologies

Jennifer Rexford is the Provost, Gordon Y.S. Wu Professor of Engineering, and Professor of Computer Science at Princeton University. She served as the chair of the Computer Science department at Princeton from 2015 to 2022.  Before joining the Princeton faculty in 2005, Jennifer worked for eight years at AT&T Labs–Research.  She received her BSE degree in Electrical Engineering from Princeton University, and her PhD degree in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan.

Jennifer’s research focuses on computer networking, with the larger goal of making future networks worthy of the trust society increasingly places in them. She is known for her work on Internet routing, including the stability, security, and performance of the Border Gateway Protocol (BGP). Jennifer also made contributions to Software Defined Networking, including early work at AT&T on the Routing Control Platform, as well as her collaborations with programming languages researchers on languages for programmable network controllers and the packet-processing hardware in high-speed switches.

She is co-author of the book “Web Protocols and Practice” (Addison-Wesley, with Balachander Krishnamurthy, 2001) and the forthcoming book “The Real Internet Architecture: Past, Present, and Future Evolution” (Princeton University Press, with Pamela Zave, 2024), and co-editor of the book “She’s an Engineer?  Princeton Alumnae Reflect” (Princeton University, with Yvonne Ng, 1993). 

Jennifer received the ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award for outstanding young computer professional, the ACM Athena Lecturer Award, the NCWIT Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award, the ACM SIGCOMM award for lifetime contributions, and the IEEE Internet Award.  Jennifer is an ACM Fellow, an IEEE Fellow, and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the National Academy of Sciences.