Eric Evans

Panelist on the Innovation and Collaboration in Leading Technology Laboratories Panel

Dr. Eric D. Evans is the Director of MIT Lincoln Laboratory, a multidisciplinary Federally Funded Research and Development Center (FFRDC) run by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology for the Department of Defense. As Director, he is responsible for the Laboratory’s strategic direction and overall technical and administrative operations.

The Laboratory focuses on advanced technology development and system prototyping for national security needs. Laboratory-sponsored programs include work for the military services and other government agencies, such as the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), and the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). The Laboratory has 4500 employees whose backgrounds include electrical engineering, physics, mathematics, and computer science.

He was appointed as Chair of the Defense Science Board in 2020, where he has served on several studies, including as co-leader of DSB Task Forces on Improvised Explosive Devices and Cyber Security, and Reliability in a Digital Cloud. He has been an advisor to the U.S. Strategic Command Senior Advisory Group and a member of the Massport Security Advisory Council. From 2012 through 2018 he was the Chair of the Board of the National GEM Consortium Executive Committee supporting graduate STEM education for underrepresented minorities. He has also served as a member of the Los Alamos and Lawrence-Livermore National Laboratory Nuclear Mission Committee.

Dr. Evans is a Fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the AIAA, and a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He is the author of over 60 journal and conference publications. In 1996, he and his co-authors received the M. Barry Carlton Award from the IEEE Aerospace and Electronics Systems Society for a paper on advanced radar signal processing. Dr. Evans holds B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from The Ohio State University.