- 2024 CHRISTOPHER MANNING (nonmember)—Thomas M. Siebel Professor in Machine Learning in the Departments of Linguistics and Computer Science, Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA
- 2023 FRANK THOMSON (TOM) LEIGHTON (MIEEE)— Chief Executive Officer, Akamai Technologies, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
- 2022 DEBORAH ESTRIN (FIEEE)— Professor, Computer Science, Cornell University, Cornell New York, USA
- 2021 JEFFREY ADGATE DEAN (nonmember)—Google Senior Fellow, Mountain View, California, USA
- 2020 MICHAEL I. JORDAN Professor, University of California, Berkeley, California, USA
- 2019 EVA TARDOS Jacob Gould Schurman Professor of Computer Science, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, USA
- 2018 PATRICK COUSOT Professor, New York University, New York, New York, USA

"For advances in computational representation and analysis of natural language."

"For fundamental contributions to algorithm design and their application to content delivery networks."

"For leadership in mobile and wireless sensing systems technologies and applications, including personal health management."

"For contributions to the science and engineering of large-scale distributed computer systems and artificial intelligence systems."

"For contributions to machine learning and data science."

"For contributions to the field of algorithms, including foundational new methods in optimization, approximation algorithms, and algorithmic game theory."

"For introducing abstract interpretation, a powerful framework for automatically calculating program properties with broad application to verification and optimization."

- 2017 VLADIMIR VAPNIK Professor, Columbia University and Facebook AI Research, New York, New York, USA
- 2016 CHRISTOS HARILAOS PAPADIMITRIOU Professor, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, California, USA

"For the development of statistical learning theory, the theoretical foundations for machine learning, and support vector machines."

"For providing a deeper understanding of computational complexity and its implications for approximation algorithms, artificial intelligence, economics, database

theory, and biology."

- 2015 JAMES A. GOSLING Chief Software Architect, Liquid Robotics, Redwood, California, USA
- 2014 CLEVE MOLER Chief Mathematician, MathWorks, Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
- 2013 JACK B. DENNIS Professor Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, MIT, Cambridge, MA, USA
- 2012 EDWARD McCLUSKEY Professor Emeritus, Departments of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA
- 2011 C.A.R. (TONY) HOARE Principal Researcher, Microsoft Research Ltd.; Cambridge, UK
- 2010 JOHN HOPCROFT IBM Professor of Engineering and Applied Mathematics, Cornell University, Cornell, NY, USA
- AND JEFFREY ULLMAN Professor Emeritus of Computer Science, Stanford University Stanford, CA, USA
- 2009 SUSAN L. GRAHAM Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor of Computer Science, Univ of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, USA
- 2008 LESLIE LAMPORT Researcher, Microsoft Corporation, Silicon Valley Research Center, Mountain, View, CA, USA

"For the Java programming language, Java Virtual Machine, and other contributions to programming languages and environments."

"For fundamental and widely used contributions to numerical linear algebra and scientific and engineering software that transformed computational science."

"For fundamental abstractions to implement protection in operating systems and for the dataflow programming paradigm."

EDWARD McCLUSKEY "For fundamental contributions that shaped Professor Emeritus, Departments of the design and testing of digital systems."

"For seminal contributions to the scientific foundation of software design."

"For laying the foundations for the fields of automata and language theory and many seminal contributions to theoretical computer science."

"For contributions to programming language design and implementation and for exemplary service to the discipline of computer science."

"For establishment of the foundations of distributed and concurrent computing."

- 2007 CHARLES THACKER Distinguished Engineer, Microsoft Corporation, Redmond, WA, USA
- 2006 EDWIN CATMULL President, Pixar Animation Studios, Emeryville, CA, USA
- 2005 MICHAEL STONEBRAKER Adjunct Professor, Laboratory for CS, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Bedford, NH, USA

2004 BARBARA H. LISKOV Ford Professor of Engineering and Associate Head for Computer Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge, MA, USA

- 2003 ALFRED V. AHO Professor, Columbia University, New York, NY, USA
- 2002 OLE-JOHAN DAHL Univ of Oslo, Oslo, Norway
- AND KRISTEN NYGAARD Univ of Oslo, Oslo, Norway
- 2001 BUTLER W. LAMPSON Distinguished Engineer at Microsoft and Adjunct Professor at MIT

2000 JOHN L. HENNESSY Stanford University Stanford, CA, USA

AND DAVID A. PATTERSON University of California at Berkeley Berkeley, CA, USA

1999 DOUGLAS C. ENGELBART Bootstrap Institute Fremont, CA, USA "For a central role in the creation of the personal computer and the development of networked computer systems."

"For fundamental contributions to computer graphics, and a pioneering role in the use of computer animation in motion pictures."

"For contributions to the design, implementation, and commercialization of relational and object-relational database systems."

"For fundamental contributions to programming languages, programming methodology, and distributed systems."

"For contributions to the foundations of computer science and to the fields of algorithms and software tools."

"For the introduction of the concepts underlying object-oriented programming through the design and implementation of SIMULA 67."

"For technical leadership in the creation of timesharing, distributed computing, networking security and program languages."

"For creating a revolution in computer architecture through their exploration, popularization, and commercialization of architectural innovations."

"For creating the foundations of real time, interactive, personal computing including CRT displays, windows, the mouse, hypermedia linking and conferencing, and on-line journals."

- 1998 IVAN EDWARD SUTHERLAND Sun Microsystems Laboratories Palo Alto, CA, USA
- 1997 MAURICE V. WILKES Olivetti Research Ltd. Cambridge, England
- 1996 CARVER A. MEAD California Institute of Technology Pasadena, CA, USA
- 1995 DONALD E. KNUTH Stanford University Stanford, CA, USA
- 1994 JOHN COCKE IBM/T.J. Watson Research Center Yorktown Heights, NY, USA
- 1993 FREDERICK P. BROOKS, JR. Univ. of North Carolina Chapel Hill, NC, USA
- 1992 C. GORDON BELL Stardent Computer Sunnyvale, CA, USA

"For pioneering contributions to computer graphics and microelectronic design, and leadership in the support of computer science and engineering research"

"For a lifelong career of seminal contributions to computing, including the first full-scale operational stored program computer and to the foundations of programming."

"For leadership and innovative contributions to VLSI and creative microelectronic structures."

"For fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of computer science and to the art of computer programming."

"For contributions to the computer industry including the invention, development and implementation of Reduced Instruction Set Computer (RISC) architecture and program optimization technology."

"For significant developments in computer architecture, insightful observations on software engineering, and for computer science education and professional service."

"For innovative contributions to computer architecture and design."