IEEE RAO R. TUMMALA ELECTRONICS PACKAGING AWARD

RECIPIENTS

(Formerly the IEEE Electronics Packaging Award)

2025 – JIE XUE Vice President of Technology and Quality, Cisco Systems, Dublin, Texas, USA	"For contributions to industry-leading high- bandwidth networking systems, including advanced IC and Si-Photonic packaging."
2024 - MADHAVAN SWAMINATHAN Department Head Electrical Engineering & Director, CHIMES (an SRC JUMP 2.0 Center), Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA, USA	"For contributions to semiconductor packaging and system integration technologies that improve the performance, efficiency, and capabilities of electronic systems."
2023 – GUOQI (KOUCHI) ZHANG Professor, Delft University of Technology, Delft, The Netherlands	"For scientific and technological leadership in "More than Moore" (MtM) packaging, codesigning, and reliability."
2022 – DOUGLAS C.H. YU Vice President, TSMC, Hsinchu, Taiwan	"For contributions to the development of advanced packaging technologies and their implementation in high-volume manufacturing."
2021 - CHIN C. LEE Retired Professor, University of California, Irvine, California, USA	"For contributions to new silver alloys, new bonding methods, flip-chip interconnect, and education for electronics packaging."
2020 – MITSUMASA KOYANAGI Senior Research Fellow, Tohoku University, Sendai, Miyagi, Japan	"For pioneering contributions leading to the commercialization of 3D wafer and die level stacking packaging."
AND	
PETER RAMM Head of Strategic Projects, Fraunhofer EMFT, Bavaria, Germany	
2019 - EPHRAIM SUHIR Professor, Portland State University, Portland, Oregon, USA	"For seminal contributions to mechanical reliability engineering and modeling of electronic and photonic packages and systems."

1 of 3

2018 - WILLIAM CHEN

California, USA

Fellow of ASE Group, Sunnyvale,

"For contributions to electronic packaging from

research and development through

strategic roadmapping efforts."

industrialization, and for his leadership in

IEEE RAO R. TUMMALA ELECTRONICS PACKAGING AWARD

RECIPIENTS

(Formerly the IEEE Electronics Packaging Award)

2017 – PAUL S. HO Professor, The University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas, USA "For contributions to the materials science of packaging and its impact on reliability, specifically in the science of electromigration."

AND

KING-NING TU
Distinguished Professor, Department
of Material Science & Engineering,
University of California at Los
Angeles, Los Angeles, California,
USA

2016 - MICHAEL PECHT
Director, Center for Advanced Life
Cycle Engineering, University of
Maryland, College Park, Maryland,
USA

"For visionary leadership in the development of physics-of-failure-based and prognosticsbased approaches to electronic packaging reliability."

2015 – NASSER BOZORG-GRAYELI President Technology and Manufacturing Group, Intel Corporation, Tempe, Arizona, USA "For contributions to the advancement of microelectronic packaging technology, manufacturing, and semiconductor ecosystems."

2014 – AVRAM BAR-COHEN
Distinguished University Professor of
Mechanical Engineering,
University of Maryland,
College Park, Maryland, USA

"For contributions to thermal design, modeling, and analysis, and for original research on heat transfer and liquid-phase cooling."

2013 – JOHN LAU ITRI Fellow, Industrial Technology Research Institute (ITRI), Hsinchu, Taiwan "For contributions to the literature in advanced solder materials, manufacturing for highly reliable electronic products, and education in advanced packaging."

2012 – MAURO WALKER

Senior Vice President and Director of Manufacturing, Motorola (Retired), Ocean Ridge, FL, USA

"For advancing electronic manufacturing, technology and packaging worldwide through technical innovation and cooperative leadership in industry, government, academia and professional organizations."

2011 – RAO R. TUMMALA Endowed Chair Professor, Georgia Institute of Technology, Packaging Research Center, Atlanta, GA, USA "For pioneering and innovative contributions to package integration research, crossdisciplinary education and globalization of electronic packaging."

IEEE RAO R. TUMMALA ELECTRONICS PACKAGING AWARD

RECIPIENTS

(Formerly the IEEE Electronics Packaging Award)

2010 - HERBERT REICHL	
Full Professor at Faculty IV	
Technische Univ Berlin	
Berlin, Germany	

"For contributions to the integration of reliability in electronic systems, and leadership in research and education in electronic packaging."

2009 – GEORGE G. HARMAN NIST Scientist Emeritus Gaithersburg, MD, USA "For achievements in wire bonding technologies."

2008 – KARL PUTTLITZ SR.
President, Puttlitz Engineering
Consultancy, Wappingers Falls, NY
USA

"For pioneering achievements in flip chip interconnection technology and for semiconductor devices and packages"

AND

PAUL A. TOTTA Retired, IBM East Fishkill Facility, East Fishkill, NY, USA

2007 – DIMITRY GRABBE Worcester Polytechnic Institute Worcester, MA "For contributions to the fields of electrical/electronic connector technology, and development of multi-layer printed wiring boards."

2006 – C. P. WONG Regent's Professor at Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA

"For contributions in advanced polymeric materials science and processes for highly reliable electronic packages."

2005 – YUTAKA TSUKADA

Manager of Packaging Technology
Development
Kyocera SLC Technologies Corp
Shiga-Ken, Japan

"For pioneering contributions in micro-via technology for printed circuit boards, and for extending the feasibility of the direct flip-chip attachment process."

2004 – JOHN W. BALDE Senior Consultant Interconnection Decision Consulting Flemington, NJ "For lifetime contributions to tantalum film technology and the introduction of new electronic packaging technology to development and manufacturing."