IEEE KIYO TOMIYASU AWARD

RECIPIENTS

2024 - DAVIDE SCARAMUZZA
Professor and Director of the
Robotics and Perception Group,
University of Zurich, Zurich,
Switzerland

"For contributions to agile visual navigation of micro drones and lowlatency robust perception with event cameras."

2023 – TIM BÖSCKE Director, ams OSRAM, Regensburg, Germany

"For contributions to the discovery of ferroelectricity in hafnium-based oxides."

2022 - PIETER ABBEEL Professor, University of California Berkeley, Berkeley, California, USA "For contributions to deep learning for robotics."

2021 – ZHU HAN
John and Rebecca Moores Professor,
Dept. of Electrical & Computer
Engineering, University of Houston,
Texas, USA

"For contributions to game theory and distributed management of autonomous communication networks."

2020 – ANDREA ALÙ
Einstein Professor, Founding
Director, CUNY Advanced Science
Research Center, New York,
New York, USA

"For contributions to novel electromagnetic materials and their application."

2019 - ROBERT W. HEATH, JR.

Cullen Trust Endowed Professor #6,

The University of Texas at Austin,

Austin, Texas, USA

"For contributions to wireless communication systems."

AND

JEFFREY ANDREWS
Cullen Trust for Higher Education
Endowed Professor of Engineering,
University of Texas at Austin, Texas,
USA

IEEE KIYO TOMIYASU AWARD

RECIPIENTS

2018 - NICHOLAS LANEMAN
Professor, University of Notre Dame,
Notre Dame, Indiana, USA

"For contributions to wireless network communication theory, algorithms, and architectures."

2017 - EMILIO FRAZZOLI
Professor, Massachusetts Institute of
Technology, Cambridge
Massachusetts, USA

"For contributions to planning, control, and fleet operation algorithms for autonomous vehicles."

2016 – YONINA ELDAR Professor, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel "For development of the theory and implementation of sub-Nyquist sampling with applications to radar, communications, and ultrasound."

2015 – KAUSTAV BANERJEE Professor, University of California, Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, California, USA "For contributions to nano-materials, devices, circuits, and CAD, enabling low-power and low-cost electronics."

AND

VIVEK SUBRAMANIAN Professor, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, California, USA

2014 – GEORGE CHRISIKOS Principal Engineer, Qualcomm Inc., San Diego, CA, USA "For contributions to heterogeneous network architectures with ubiquitous wireless access."

2013 – CARLOS ARTEMIO COELLO COELLO Professor (Investigador Cinvestav 3F), CINVESTAV-IPN, Col. San Pedro Zacatenco, Mexico "For pioneering contributions to singleand multiobjective optimization techniques using bioinspired metaheuristics."

2012 – MUNG CHIANG
Associate Professor of Electrical
Engineering, Princeton University,
Princeton, NJ, USA

"For demonstrating the practicability of a new theoretical foundation for the analysis and design of communication networks."

2011 – MOE Z. WIN
Associate Professor, Massachusetts
Institute of Technology,
Cambridge, MA, USA

"For fundamental contributions to highspeed reliable communications using optical and wireless channels"

2010 – TSU-JAE KING LIU Professor, Dept of Elec Engrg & Computer Science University of California Berkeley, CA, USA "For contributions to nanoscale MOS transistors, memory devices, and MEMs devices."

IEEE KIYO TOMIYASU AWARD

RECIPIENTS

2009 – SHIH-FU CHANG
Professor and Chairman
Dept of Electrical Engineering
Digital Video and Multimedia Lab
Columbia University
New York, NY, USA

"For contributions to Automated Image Classification."

2008 - GEORGE V. ELEFTHERIADES
Professor and Canada Research Chair,
University of Toronto
Toronto, Canada

"For pioneering contributions to the science and the technological applications of negative-refraction electromagnetic materials."

2007 – ALBERTO MOREIRA
Microwaves & Radar Research
Institute German Aerospace Center,
Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany

"For development of synthetic aperture radar concepts."

2006 – MUHAMMAD A. ALAM
Professor, Electrical and Computer
Engineering
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN, USA

"For contributions to device technology for communication systems."

2005 – CHAI K. TOH
Director of Research, Comm Systems
Northrup Grumman Mission Systems
Carson, CA, USA

"For pioneering contributions in communication protocols for ad hoc mobile wireless networks."

2004 – DAVID B. FOGEL Chief Executive Officer Natural Selection, Inc. La Jolla, CA, USA "For outstanding contributions to the science and technology of computational intelligence and to the development and expansion of that field."

2003 – KESHAB K. PARHI
Distinguished McKnight Univ.
Professor, University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN, USA

"For pioneering contributions to highspeed and low-power digital signal processing architectures for broadband communications systems."

2002 – CASIMER DECUSATIS
Senior Engineer, IBM Corporation
Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

'For contributions to optical technologies and fiber optic communications, holding the promise of innovative applications for computer networks.'