2024 – STEPHEN B. WEINSTEIN Independent Consultant (Retired), New York, New York, USA

AND

LEONARD J. CIMINI, JR. Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Delaware, Newark, Delaware, USA

AND

GEOFFREY YE LI Chair Professor in Wireless Systems, Faculty of Engineering, Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Imperial College, London, United Kingdom

- 2023 RADIA PERLMAN Fellow, Dell Technologies, Redmond, Washington, USA
- 2022 LAJOS HANZO Chair of Telecommunications, Southampton University, Hampshire, United Kingdom
- 2021 EN-HUI YANG Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
- 2020 THEODORE (TED) S. RAPPAPORT David Lee/Ernst Weber Professor of Electrical Engineering, New York University, New York, USA
- 2019 ANDREA GOLDSMITH Professor, Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA
- 2018 PETER W. SHOR

"For fundamental contributions to frequency domain communications including orthogonal frequency division multiplexing."

"For contributions to Internet routing and bridging protocols."

"For seminal contributions to adaptive wireless communications."

"For contributions to the theory and practice of source coding."

"For pioneering contributions to radio channel modeling and characterization, and millimeter wave communication systems."

"For contributions to the fundamental understanding and innovation in adaptive and multiple antenna techniques for wireless communication networks."

"For contributions to quantum communication

Morss Professor of Applied Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

2017 – WILLIAM C. LINDSEY Professor, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, California, USA

2016 – SHUO-YEN ROBERT LI Distinguished University Professor, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, Chengdu City, China

AND

RAYMOND W. YEUNG Choh Ming Li Professor of Information Engineering, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China

AND

NING CAI Distinguished Professor, the School of Information Science and Technology, ShanghaiTech University, Shanghai, China.

2015 – SANJOY MITTER Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

2014 – ALAN ELI WILLNER Steven & Kathryn Sample Chaired Professor in Engineering, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA

2013 – VAHID TAROKH Professor, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA

> HAMID JAFARKHANI Professor, University of California, Irvine, CA, USA

and information theory."

"For contributions to synchronization and digital communication technologies."

"For pioneering contributions to the field of network coding."

"For contributions to the unification of communications and control."

"For contributions to high-capacity, multiplexed, optical communication systems."

"For contributions to block signaling for multiple antennas "

AND

AND

SIAVASH ALAMOUTI Group R&D Director, Vodafone, Vodafone House, Newbury, Great Britain

2012 – JACK H. WINTERS Managing Member, Jack Winters Communications, LLC, Middletown, NJ, USA

AND

ANDREAS F. MOLISCH Full Professor, University of Southern California, Dept. of Electrical Engineering, Los Angeles, CA, USA "For contributions to the theory and application of multiple-antenna systems in wireless communications."

2011 – H. VINCENT POOR Michael Henry Strater University Professor, and Dean of Engineering and Applied Science, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, USA

2010 – REINALDO VALENZUELA Director, Wireless Communications Research Department Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs Holmdel, NJ, USA

2009 – ROBERTO PADOVANI Executive Vice President and Chief Technical Officer Qualcomm, Inc., San Diego, CA, USA

2008 – THOMAS L. KOCH Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering and Physics, Center for Optical Technologies, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA, USA

2007 – MICHAEL G. LUBY Chief Technical Officer, Digital Fountain, Inc., 39141 Civic Center Drive Fremont, CA, USA "For pioneering contributions to multipleaccess communications."

"For pioneering contributions to multi antennas systems and microwave propagation."

"For pioneering innovations in wireless communications, particularly to the evolution of CDMA for wireless broadband data."

"For pioneering contributions to optoelectronic technologies and their implementation in optical communications systems"

"For bridging mathematics, internet design and mobile broadcasting as well as successful standardization."

AND

AMIN SHOKROLLAHI EPFL, Professor of Mathematics & Computer Science Lausanne, Switzerland

- 2006 ROBERT A. SCHOLTZ Fred H. Cole Professor Univ of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA
- AND MOE Z. WIN Associate Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA
- 2005 KRISHAN SABNANI Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies Holmdel, NJ, USA
- 2004 GERARD J. FOSCHINI Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies Holmdel, NJ, USA
- 2003 WERNER BUX Manager, Dpt. Of Comm. Sys. IBM Zurich Research Lab. Ruschlikon, Switzerland

AND HANS R. MUELLER Langnau, Switzerland

- 2002 JOHN MIDWINTER University College London, England
- AND TSUNEO NAKAHARA Sumitomo Electric Industries, Ltd Osaka, Japan
- 2001 NO AWARD
- 2000 NO AWARD
- 1999 HOWARD FRANK University of Maryland College Park, MD, USA

"For innovative contributions to modeling and design of communications network."

"For pioneering contributions to ultra-wide band communications science and technology."

"For seminal contributions to networking protocols."

"For innovation and outstanding contributions to communication theory, in particular on multi-element antenna technology for high spectral-efficiency communications."

"For contributions to the design, development and standardization of the token-ring local area network."

"For pioneering contributions to the physical understanding, manufacture, and deployment

of optical fiber communications systems".

IVAN T. FRISCH Polytechnic University Brooklyn, NY, USA

1998 -DONALD L. DUTTWEILER Bell Labs/Lucent Technologies Holmdel, NJ, USA

AND DEBASIS MITRA Bell Labs/Lucent Technologies Holmdel, NJ, USA

AND MAN MOHAN SONDHI Bell Labs/Lucent Technologies Murray Hill, NJ, USA

1997 – JEAN-PIERRE COUDREUSE Mitsubishi Information Technology Rennes, France "For the conception and development of voice echo cancellers"

"For fundamental contributions to broadband communications by Asynchronous Transfer Mode (ATM)."