IEEE INNOVATION IN SOCIETAL INFRASTRUCTURE AWARD RECIPIENTS

2024 – ELENA FERRARI Professor, University of Insubria, Varese, Italy

"For pioneering and sustained contributions to the security and privacy of online social networks."

- 2023 KATHLEEN MCKEOWN Henry and Gertrude Rothschild Professor of Computer Science, Department of Computer Science, Columbia University, New York, New York
- "For pushing the boundaries of natural language processing for social media analysis, news summarization, crisis informatics, and creating a digital library for patient care."
- 2022 M. Tamer Özsu University Professor, Cheriton School of Computer Science, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
- 2021 ELISA BERTINO Lafayette, Indiana, USA

management."

"For contributions to data science

infrastructure and distributed data

- "For advancing the security and privacy of Professor, Purdue University, West new-generation cellular networks."
- 2020 MASARU KITSUREGAWA Director General and Professor, National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo, Japan
- 2019 ANDY VIDAN CEO & Co-Founder, Composable Analytics, Inc., Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

AND

PAUL BREIMYER Director of Software Engineering, Audible Inc., an Amazon Company, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

AND

GREGORY HOGAN Associate Group Leader; "For contributions to big data collection and analytics of real-world problems with advanced data engineering technologies."

"For development of real-time collaborative and distributed emergency response and recovery systems."

IEEE INNOVATION IN SOCIETAL INFRASTRUCTURE AWARD RECIPIENTS

Advanced Sensors & Techniques, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Lincoln Laboratory, Lexington, Massachusetts, USA

2018 – DAVID F. FERRAIOLO Senior Computer Scientist, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

AND

D. RICHARD KUHN

Computer Scientist, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA "For advancing the foundations and practice of information security through creation, development, and technology transfer of rolebased access control (RBAC)."

AND

AND

AND

RAVI SANDHU Professor of Computer Science and Lutcher Brown Chair in Cybersecurity, University of Texas at San Antonio, San Antonio, Texas, USA

2017 – ANTONELLO (ANTO) MONTI Professor/Institute Director, RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany

2016 – WILLIAM H. SANDERS Department Head, Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Donald Biggar Willett Professor of Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois, USA

2015 – TAKEMOCHI ISHII Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo, Minatoku, Tokyo, Japan

> HIROKAZU IHARA Board Director, International Institute of Intelligence and Information, Machida, Tokyo, Japan

"For accelerating innovation of energy, information, and communication technologies for the urban environment."

"For the assessment-driven design of trustworthy cyber infrastructures for electric grid systems."

"For pioneering the concept of dependable autonomous decentralized systems and contributing to its practical application in early transport control systems."

IEEE INNOVATION IN SOCIETAL INFRASTRUCTURE AWARD RECIPIENTS

ATSUNOBU ICHIKAWA Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Machida, Tokyo, Japan

2014 – BALAJI PRABHAKAR Professor, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA "For his demonstration of the innovative use of information technology and distributed computing systems to solve long-standing societal problems, in areas ranging from transportation to healthcare and recycling."