IEEE ROBOTICS AND AUTOMATION AWARD RECIPIENTS

2024 – PAOLO DARIO Professor Emeritus of Biomedical Robotics, Scuola Superiore Sant' Anna, Pisa, Toscano, Italy

"For establishing and advancing bionics and biorobotics as key research areas worldwide, integrating robotics and medicine."

2023 – DANIELA RUS Andrew and Erna Viterbi Professor and Director of CSAIL, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge,

Massachusetts, USA

"For pioneering contributions to the design, realization, and theoretical foundations of innovative distributed, networked autonomous systems."

2022 – WOLFRAM BURGARD Professor, University of Freiburg, Baden, Wurttemberg, Germany

"For contributions to the fundamentals and applications of robot navigation and perception."

2021 – TOMAS LOZANO-PEREZ Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

"For foundational contributions to robot motion planning and visionary leadership of the field."

AND

JEAN-CLAUDE LATOMBE Kumagai Professor Emeritus, School of Engineering, Computer Science Department, Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA

2020 - VIJAY KUMAR Nemirovsky Family Dean, School of Engineering and Applied Science, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

"For contributions to cooperative robotics; networked mobile manipulation systems, particularly unmanned aerial vehicles; and leadership in robotics research, policy, and education."

2019 – ZEXIANG LI Professor, Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Clearwater Bay, Hong Kong, China

"For contributions to the development and commercialization of civilian drones, aerial imaging technology, robotics engineering advancement, innovation, and entrepreneurship."

AND

IEEE ROBOTICS AND AUTOMATION AWARD RECIPIENTS

FRANK WANG
Founder and Chief Executive Officer,
SZ DJI Technology Co., Ltd.,
Shenzhen, China

2018 – MATTHEW T. MASON
Professor, The Robotics Institute,
Carnegie Mellon University,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

"For scientific and educational contributions to the mechanics of manipulation enabling real-world robot autonomy, and for leadership in robotics."

2017 - OUSSAMA KHATIB
Professor, Department of Computer
Science, Stanford University,
California, USA

"For contributions to the development of robot control and human-centered and humanoid robotics, and leadership in the robotics community."

2016 - RAFFAELLO D'ANDREA Professor, ETH Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland "For pioneering contributions to design and implementation of distributed cooperative robotics and automation systems for commercial applications."

2015 – RODNEY ALLEN BROOKS
Chairman and Chief Technology
Officer, Rethink Robotics, and Fujitsu
Professor Emeritus, Massachusetts
Institute of Technology, Boston,
Massachusetts, USA

"For pioneering contributions to and leadership in research and commercialization of autonomous robotics, spanning mobile, humanoid, service, and manufacturing robotics."

2014 – SHIGEO HIROSE CTO, HiBot Corporation, Tokyo, Japan "For contributions to the design and construction of multiple nonconventional robotic systems such as snakelike, quadruped walking, wall climbing, and swarm robots."

2013 – RUZENA BAJCSY Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA "For contributions to computer vision, the active perception paradigm, and medical robotics."

2012 - BERNARD ROTH
Professor, Stanford University,
Stanford, CA, USA

"For fundamental contributions to robot kinematics, manipulation and design."

2011 – HIROCHIKA INOUE Professor, University of Tokyo Tokyo, Japan "For original and continuous contributions to research in intelligent robotics, in particular to real-time vision and humanoid robotics."

IEEE ROBOTICS AND AUTOMATION AWARD RECIPIENTS

2010 – TOSHIO FUKUDA Professor, Nagoya University Nagoya, Japan "For leadership and pioneering contributions to Intelligent Robotic Systems and Micro and Nano Robotic Systems."

2009 – ANTAL BEJCZY
Senior Research Scientist (Retired)
Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL)
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, CA, USA

"For leadership and sustained contributions to a broad set of innovative robotic and automation techniques applicable to space research and on earth."

2008 – PAUL G. BACKES
Supervisor, Mobility and
Manipulation Group, and JPL
Principal Technical Staff Member,
Pasadena, CA, USA

"For contributions to robotics enabling effective autonomous operations of science investigations under extreme conditions on the planet Mars."

AND

ERIC T. BAUMGARTNER
Dean, College of Engineering, Ohio
Northern University,
Ada, OH, USA

AND

LARRY H. MATTHIES Supervisor, Machine Vision Group, and JPL Senior Research Scientist, Pasadena, CA, USA

2007 – GERD HIRZINGER
Institute of Robotics and
Mechantronics DLR Oberpfaffenhofer
Wessling, Germany

"For contributions in robot mechatronics, telerobotics, man-machine interface research, and space robotics."

2006 – GEORGE A. BEKEY
Prof Emeritus of Computer Science
Electrical Engineering and
Biomedical Engineering Department
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA, USA

"For contributions to research and education in biologically inspired and intelligent robots."

2005 - SEIUEMON INABA Honorary Chairman FANUC, Ltd. Yamanashi Prefecture, Japan "For long-standing leadership and technical contributions to the development of Numerical Control machines, industrial robots, and flexible factory automation."

2004 – JOSEPH F. ENGELBERGER Retired Newtown, CT, USA "For a lifetime of achievement in establishing and advancing the field of robotics and automation worldwide."