IEEE PHOTONICS AWARD

RECIPIENTS

2024 – KIM ROBERTS
Vice President of Wavelogic
Science, Ciena Corporation, Ottawa,
Ontario, Canada

"For leadership in the introduction and development of digital coherent signal processing for optical fiber transmission systems."

2023 – ROEL BAETS
Professor, Department of
Information Technology, Ghent
University - IMEC, Gent, Belgium

"For pioneering research in integrated photonics, including silicon, silicon-nitride, III-V devices, and their heterogeneous integration."

2022 – RODNEY S. TUCKER
Laureate Emeritus Professor,
The University of Melbourne,
Victoria, Australia

"For contributions to photonic device modelling and bridging the gap between device and system-level performance, including energy consumption."

2021 – JACK JEWELL Self-employed, Consultant, Boulder, Colorado, USA "For seminal and sustained contributions to the development and commercialization of vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSEL)."

2020 – CHRISTOPHER R. DOERR AVP Advanced Development, Acacia Communication Holmdel, New Jersey, USA "For sustained pioneering research, development, and commercialization of photonic integrated circuits and devices for telecommunications."

2019 – MICHAL LIPSON
Eugene Higgins Professor Electrical
Engineering, Columbia University,
New York, New York, USA

"For pioneering contributions to silicon photonics."

2018 – URSULA KELLER
Professor, Physics Department,
Institute for Quantum Electronics,
Zurich, Switzerland

"For seminal contributions to ultrafast laser technology enabling important industrial applications and novel scientific breakthroughs."

2017 – JOHN BOWERS Kavli Professor of Nanotechnology, University of Santa Barbara, California, USA

"For pioneering research in silicon photonics, including hybrid silicon lasers, photonic integrated circuits, and ultra-low-loss waveguides."

2016 – MARK E. THOMPSON
Professor, Department of
Chemistry, University of Southern
California, Los Angeles, CA, USA

"For scientific and technical leadership in the conception, demonstration, and development of phosphorescent materials in organic light-emitting diode (OLED) displays."

IEEE PHOTONICS AWARD RECIPIENTS

2015 - PHILIP ST. JOHN RUSSELL
Professor, Max Planck Institute for
the Science of Light, Erlangen,
Germany

"For pioneering contributions to the conception and realization of photonic crystal fibers."

2014 – JAMES G. FUJIMOTO Elihu Thomson Professor of Electrical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

"For pioneering the development and commercialization of optical coherence tomography for medical diagnostics."

2013 – PETER F. MOULTON Vice-President, CTO, Q-Peak, Inc., Bedford, MA, USA "For the discovery of the Ti:Sapphire laser and the development of many novel solidstate laser systems and applications."

2012 – ELI YABLONOVITCH
Professor, Electrical Engineering &
Computer Sciences Department,
University of California Berkeley,
Berkeley, CA, USA

"For pioneering contributions to photonic crystals, the photonic bandgap and photonic bandgap engineering."

2011 – AMNON YARIV

Martin and Eileen Summerfield

Professor of Applied Physics and
Electrical Engineering

California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, CA, USA

"For fundamental contributions to photonics science, engineering and education that have broadly impacted quantum electronics and lightwave communications."

2010 – IVAN P. KAMINOW Adjunct Professor Univ of California, Berkeley Berkeley, CA, USA "For seminal contributions to electro-optic modulation, integrated optics, and semiconductor lasers, and leadership in optical telecommunications."

2009 - ROBERT L. BYER
Professor, Dept of Applied Physics,
Stanford University,
Stanford, CA, USA

"For seminal contributions to nonlinear optics and solid-state lasers for commercial applications from precision measurement to manufacturing."

2008 – JOSEPH C. CAMPBELL

Department of Electrical and

Computer Engineering, University of

Virginia, VA, USA

"For seminal and sustained contributions to the development of high-speed, low-noise long wavelength avalanche photodiodes"

2007 - DAVID NEIL PAYNE
Professor, Southampton
Optoelectronics Research Center,
Highfiled, Southampton, UK

"For pioneering contributions to the development and commercialization of optical fiber-based technologies for communications, sensors, and high power

IEEE PHOTONICS AWARD

RECIPIENTS

applications."

2006 – FREDERICK J. LEONBERGER Retired, Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, JDS Uniphase Corporation, Bloomfield, CT, USA "For technical leadership, commercialization and practical deployment of photonic component technologies for optical communications."

2005 - ROD C. ALFERNESS
Optical Networking Research Senior
VP Bell Laboratories/Lucent
Technologies
Holmdel, NJ, USA

"For seminal contributions to enabling photonics technologies and for visionary leadership in their application to networks and systems".

2004 – TINGYE LI Retired/Division Manager Communications Infrastructure Communications Boulder, CO, USA "For leadership, vision and pioneering contributions in the fields of optical fiber communications and laser science."