IEEE WILLIAM E. NEWELL POWER ELECTRONICS AWARD RECIPIENTS

2024 – DAVID J. PERREAULT
Ford Foundation Professor of
Engineering, The Massachusetts
Institute of Technology, Cambridge,
Massachusetts, USA

"For contributions to the development of very-high-frequency power converters."

2023 - DRAGAN MAKSIMOVIC
Professor, Department of Electrical,
Computer, and Energy Engineering,
University of Colorado, Boulder,
Colorado, USA

"For contributions to digital control, modeling, and topologies of switchedmode power supplies."

- 2022 FANG ZHENG PENG
 University Distinguished Professor,
 Florida State University,
 Tallahassee, Florida, USA
- "For the development of cascaded multilevel inverters and high-power converter topologies, and for their advancement in grid-scale applications."
- 2021 ROBERT W. ERICKSON Professor, University of Colorado at Boulder, Boulder, Colorado, USA
- "For contributions to power electronics education and analysis, modeling, and design of power converters."
- 2020 IVO BARBI Emeritus Professor, Federal University of Santa Catarina, Florianopolis, Brazil
- "For contributions to soft-switching converter technologies and power electronics education."
- 2019 PATRIZIO VINCIARELLI CEO, Vicor Corporation, Andover, Massachusetts, USA
- "For visionary leadership in the development of high-efficiency, high-power-density power conversion components for distributed power system applications."
- 2018 RAINER MARQUARDT
 Professor for Power Electronics and
 Control, Universität der Bundeswehr
 München, Neubiberg, Germany
- "For development of the modular multilevel converter application in medium drives and high-voltage DC transmission systems."
- 2017 SEUNG-KI SUL
 Professor, Department of Electrical
 and Computer Engineering, Seoul
 National University, Seoul, Korea
- "For contributions to the sensorless control of rotating field electrical machines"
- 2016 JOHANN W. KOLAR
 Professor, Power Electronic Systems
 Laboratory, ETH Zurich, Zurich,
 Switzerland
- "For contributions to the advancement of three-phase pulse-width modulation (PWM) converter systems and power electronics education."

2015 - SHU YUEN RON HUI

"For contributions to power electronics

IEEE WILLIAM E. NEWELL POWER ELECTRONICS AWARD RECIPIENTS

Professor (Jointly) University of Hong Kong and Imperial College London, Department of Electrical & Electronic Engineering, University of Hong Kong

applications in planar wireless charging and sustainable lighting technology."

2014 - FREDE BLAABJERG Professor, Aalborg University, Department of Energy Technology, Aalborg, Denmark

"For contributions to power electronics in renewable energy and adjustable speed drives."

2013 - RIK W. DE DONCKER Professor Dr. ir. and Head of Institute for Power Electronics and Electrical Drives, RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany and Director of E. ON Energy Research Center, RWTH Aachen University Honorary Doctor and Professor at Faculty for Electrical Engineering and Information Technology at Technical University Riga, Latvia

"For contributions to the development of new components, topologies, and controls in power electronic systems."

2012 - LEO LORENZ Senior Principal, Infineon Technologies, power semiconductor devices and Neubiberg, Germany

"For contributions to the development of integrated power modules."

2011 - PRAVEEN JAIN Professor and Canada Research Chair, practice of high-frequency power Department of Electrical and Computer conversion systems." Engineering; Director, Queen's Centre Energy and Power Electronics Research (ePOWER), Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada

"For advancements in the theory and

2010 - AKIO NAKAGAWA Fellow, Toshiba Corporation Kawasaki, Japan

"For development of non-latch-up IGBTs."

2009 - TADASHI FUKAO Independent Consultant, Yokohama, Japan

"For contributions to the development of cycloconverters and bearingless drives."

2008 - ISTVAN NAGY Professor, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

"For leadership in the research, development, worldwide promotion, and university education in power electronics technology"

2007 - DUSHAN BOROYEVICH

"For advancement of control, modeling,

IEEE WILLIAM E. NEWELL POWER ELECTRONICS AWARD RECIPIENTS

Professor, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University, Blacksburg, VA, USA and design of switching power converters."

2006 - DEEPAKRAJ M. DIVAN
Georgia Institute of Technology,
School of ECE,
Atlanta, GA, USA

"For leadership in the development of softswitching power converters."

Prior to 2006, the IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award was a society-level award and was presented from 1979 through 2005. Past society-level award recipients can be found by accessing http://www.ieee-pels.org/awards/william-e-newell-award.