IEEE/RSE JAMES CLERK MAXWELL MEDAL RECIPIENTS

2024	KAM-YIN LAU (FIEEE)—Professor Emeritus, <u>Department of Electrical</u> <u>Engineering and Computer Sciences</u> , University of California, Berkeley, California, USA	"For spearheading high-speed semiconductor lasers and RF-over-Fiber Systems, enabling today's wireline and wireless broadband access."
2023	MAU-CHUNG FRANK CHANG (LFIEEE)—Wintek Chair and Distinguished Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering Department, University of California, Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California, USA	"For contributions to heterojunction device technology and CMOS System-on-Chip realizations with unprecedented reconfigurability and bandwidth."
2022	INGO WOLFF (LFIEEE)—Research Director, IMST GmbH, Kamp-Lintfort, Germany	"For the development of numerical electromagnetic field analysis techniques to design advanced mobile and satellite communication systems."
2021	EVELYN LYNN HU (LFIEEE)—Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Physics and Electrical Engineering at Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA	"For leadership in nanoscale science and engineering, and for seminal contributions at the intersection of semiconductor electronics and photonics."
2020	NO AWARD	
2019	DAVID FLYNN Visiting Professor, University of Southampton, Cambridge, UK	"For contributions to the development of novel Reduced Instruction Set Computer (RISC) architectures adopted in 100 billion+ microprocessor cores worldwide."
	AND	Simon i inici oprocessor cores monamide.
	DAVID JAGGAR Former ARM Fellow, Canterbury, New Zealand	
2018	THOMAS BRYN HAUG Former Chairman, Special Mobile Group, CEPT / currently ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute); Solletuna, Sweden	"For leadership in the development of the first international mobile communications standard with subsequent evolution into worldwide smartphone data communication."
	AND	
	PHILIPPE DUPUIS Former Chairman, Special Mobile Group, CEPT / currently ETSI (European Telecommunications	

IEEE/RSE JAMES CLERK MAXWELL MEDAL RECIPIENTS

Standards Institute); Gif-sur-Yvette,

	France	
2017	NO AWARD	
2016	GEOFFREY HINTON Professor of Computer Science, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada	"For pioneering and sustained contributions to machine learning, including developments in deep neural networks."
2015	LYNN CONWAY Professor, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA	"For contributions to and leadership in design methodology and pedagogy enabling rapid advances and dissemination of VLSI design tools and systems."
2014	DAVID NEIL PAYNE Director, Optoelectronics Research Centre, Southampton, Hampshire, United Kingdom	"For ground-breaking contributions to optical fiber technologies and their application to optical communications."
2013	RICHARD STEPHEN MULLER Professor Emeritus and Professor in the Graduate School, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, California, USA	"For pioneering innovation and leadership in micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) technology."
AND	RICHARD WHITE Professor Emeritus, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, California, USA	
2012	GERHARD SESSLER Professor, Darmstadt University of Technology, Darmstadt, Germany	"For pioneering contributions to electroacoustic transducers, the development of silicon microphone technology, and seminal work on electroactive materials."
2011	MARCIAN EDWARD HOFF Chief Technologist (Retired), Teklicon, Inc.; Los Altos Hills, CA, USA	"For developments in programmable integrated circuitry for a wide range of applications."
2010	AMAR G. BOSE Chairman, Bose Corporation, Framingham, MA, USA	"For outstanding contributions to consumer electronics in sound reproduction, industrial leadership, and engineering education."

IEEE/RSE JAMES CLERK MAXWELL MEDAL RECIPIENTS

2009 ALBERTO SANGIOVANNI
VINCENTELLI

Edgar L. and Harold H. Buttner Chair

of Electrical Engineering University

of Electrical Engineering University

electronics and communications systems

of Electrical Engineering, University electronics and communications systems of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, and their industrial implementation."

2008 TIMOTHY BERNERS-LEE "For conceiving and further developing the

Director, World Wide Web."

Consortium and Science Researcher,

2007 ANDREW VITERBI "For fundamental contributions,

President of the Viterbi Group, LLC, innovation, and leadership that enabled

San Diego, CA, USA the growth of wireless telecommunications."

AND IRWIN JACOBS

Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Lab, MIT, Cambridge,

MA, USA

Chairman, QUALCOMM Incorporated, San Diego, CA, USA