Formerly the IEEE Daniel E. Noble Award for Emerging Technologies

2024 – ANDRAS KIS
Professor, Laboratory of
Nanoscale Electronics and
Structures, EPFL, Lausanne,
Switzerland

"For pioneering work and breakthroughs on 2D materials and electronic devices."

- 2023 NO AWARD
- 2022 NO AWARD
- 2021 NO AWARD
- 2020 MIRO MICOVIC Engineering Fellow, Raytheon, Tucson, Arizona, USA

"For leadership in millimeter-wave Gallium Nitride (GaN) transistor and technology development."

2019 - THOMAS KENNY
Professor, Department of
Mechanical Engineering,
Stanford University, Stanford,
California, USA

"For the development and widespread commercialization of MEMS resonators for timing applications."

2018 – RAJIV V. JOSHI Research Staff Member, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, New York, USA "For contributions to predictive failure analytics, VLSI memory design, and technology."

2017 – MIGUEL A. L. NICOLELIS
Professor, Duke University School
of Medicine, Durham, North
Carolina, USA

"For seminal contributions to brain-machine interfaces."

2016 - MARK G. ALLEN
Alfred Fitler Moore Professor,
Department of Electrical and
Systems Engineering, Singh Center
for Nanotechnology, University of
Pennsylvania, Philadelphia,
Philadelphia, USA

"For contributions to research and development, clinical translation, and commercialization of biomedical microsystems."

2015 – KHALIL NAJAFI
Schlumberger Professor and Chair,
Electrical Engineering and Computer
Science, The University of Michigan,
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

"For leadership in micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS), technologies, and devices and for seminal contributions to inertial devices and hermetic wafer-level packaging."

Formerly the <u>IEEE Daniel E. Noble Award for Emerging Technologies</u>

2014 – GABRIEL M. REBEIZ Professor, University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, CA, USA "For pioneering contributions enabling commercialization of RF MEMS technology and tunable micro- and millimeter-wave systems."

2013 – JAN P. ALLEBACH
Hewlett-Packard Distinguished
Professor of Electrical and Computer
Engineering, Purdue University,
West Lafayette, IN, USA

"For the development of the Tone-Dependent Error Diffusion algorithm used widely in inkjet and laser printers."

2012 – SUBRAMANIAN S. IYER
Distinguished Engineer & Chief
Technologist, Semiconductor
Research & Development Center,
IBM Systems & Technology Group
Hopewell Junction, NY, USA

"For the development and implementation of embedded DRAM technologies."

2011 – MARK L. BURGENER
Vice President of Advanced
Research, Peregrine Semiconductor,
San Diego, CA, USA

"For basic research and development of silicon on sapphire technology culminating in high-yield, commercially viable integrated circuits."

AND RONALD E. REEDY
CTO and Chief of Staff, Peregrine
Semiconductor,
San Diego, CA, USA

2010 - SHINICHI ABE

Gen Mgr., Hybrid Vehicle Mgmt

System Development Division,

Toyota Corp.

Aichi, Japan

"For pioneering contributions to the development and market penetration of hybrid electric vehicles (HEVs) through the establishment of innovative architectures and control technologies."

AND

SHOICHI SASAKI Professor, Keio University Yokohama, Japan

AND

TAKEHISA YAEGASHI President (Consultant) Cordia Corporation Shizuoka, Japan

2009 - LARRY F. WEBER
President, Society for Information
Display (SID),
San Jose, CA, USA

"For pioneering contributions to Plasma Display Technology and its commercialization."

Formerly the IEEE Daniel E. Noble Award for Emerging Technologies

2008 - JAMES M. DAUGHTON

Founder, President/CEO/CTO, NVE Corporation,

Eden Prairie, MN, USA

AND

STUART PARKIN

IBM Fellow, IBM Almaden Research Center; Director, IBM-Stanford Spintronic Science and Applications Center (SpinAps),

San Jose, CA, USA

AND

SAIED TEHRANI

MRAM Technology Director, Freescale Semiconductor,

Chandler, AZ, USA

2007 - STEPHEN R. FORREST

Dept of Electrical Engineering, Princeton University,

Princeton, NJ, USA

AND

RICHARD H. FRIEND

Department of Physics, Cambridge

University,

Cambridge, UK

AND

CHING TANG

University of Rochester, Rochester, NY, USA

2006 - CARLOS A. PAZ DE ARAUJO

Full Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of

Colorado,

"For fundamental contributions and commercialization in the field of Ferroelectric

Random Access Memory (FeRAM)."

Colorado Springs, CO, USA

2005 - DAVID LOUIS HARAME

Director of Enablement for Semiconductor Research and Development Center, IBM Fellow,

IBM

Essex Junction, VT, USA

"For the development of manufacturable Silicon Germanium, HBT Bipolar and BiCMOS technologies."

2004 - LARRY J. HORNBECK

Texas Instruments Fellow

Texas Instruments, Plano, TX, USA

"For his pioneering work and sustained development of the Digital Micromirror Device, used in projection displays."

3 of 4

"For fundamental contributions to the development of magneto-resistive devices for non-volatile, high density, random access memory."

"For pioneering contributions to the

(OLEDs)"

development of organic light emitting diodes

Formerly the IEEE Daniel E. Noble Award for Emerging Technologies

2003 - KENICHI IGA
Executive Director, Japan Society for
the Promotion of Science,
Tokyo, Japan

"For pioneering developments of surface emitting semiconductor lasers and arrays."

2002 – MASATAKA NAKAZAWA Tohoku University Miyagi-Ken, Japan "For pioneering development of 1.48 μ m InGaAsP laser-diode pumping of erbium-doped fiber amplifiers (EDFA)."

2001 – KATSUTOSHI IZUMI Osaka Prefecture University Osaka, JAPAN "For pioneering development of Separation by Implanted Oxygen (SIMOX) technology."