IEEE GUSTAV R. KIRCHHOFF AWARD

RECIPIENTS

2025 – GIOVANNI DE MICHELI
Professor and Director of the
Institute of Electrical Engineering
and the Integrated Systems Centre,
École Polytechnique Fédérale de
Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland

"For fundamental contributions to the design of systems and networks-on-chip."

2024 - MARY JANE IRWIN
Emerita Evan Pugh University
Professor (Retired), The
Pennsylvania State University,
University Park, Pennsylvania,
USA

"For contributions to electronic design automation and power-aware computer architecture."

2023 – YOSHISUKE UEDA Professor Emeritus (Retired), Kyoto University, Otsu, Shiga, Japan "For the discovery of chaotic phenomena in electronic circuits and for contributions to the development of nonlinear dynamics."

2022 – JOOS VANDEWALLE Professor Emeritus, University of Leuven, Blanden, Belgium "For fundamental contributions to mathematical foundations of circuits and systems."

2021 – THOMAS H. LEE Professor, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA "For pioneering CMOS technology for highperformance wireless circuits and systems."

2020 – MARTIN HASLER
Honorary Professor, Ecole
Polytechnique Federale de
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland

"For fundamental contributions to nonlinear circuit theory and nonlinear dynamics"

2019 - KENNETH MARTIN
President, Granite SemiCom Inc.,
Toronto, Canada

"For contributions to analog, mixed-signal, and digital integrated circuits, and outstanding leadership in microelectronics education and research and development."

2018 – ALAN N. WILLSON, JR.
Charles P. Reames Professor
Emeritus, University of California
Los Angeles, Los Angeles,
California

"For fundamental contributions to the theory and design of nonlinear circuits and signal processing systems."

2017 – MARCEL PELGROM Consultant, Pelgrom Consult, Helmond, The Netherlands "For seminal contributions to systematic analysis of random offsets in semiconductor devices and their impact on circuits"

2016 – P.P. VAIDYANATHAN Professor, California Institute of "For fundamental contributions to digital signal processing."

IEEE GUSTAV R. KIRCHHOFF AWARD RECIPIENTS

Technology, Pasadena, CA, USA

rechnology, Pasadena, CA, USA	
2015 – YOSIRO OONO Professor Emeritus, Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan	"For fundamental contributions to the foundation of classical circuit theory."
2014 - CHUNG LAUNG LIU Professor, Computer Science Department, National Tsing Hua University, Hsinchu, Taiwan	"For seminal, long-lasting contributions to design automation for circuits and systems."
2013 – SANJIT KUMAR MITRA Stephen and Etta Varra Professor, Dept. of Electrical Engineering, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA	"For fundamental contributions to filter design and signal processing."
2012 - RONALD A. ROHRER University Professor Emeritus of Electrical and Computer Eng. Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh, PA, USA	"For fundamental contributions to circuit simulation, circuit design optimization and electronic design automation."
2011 – CHARLES A. DESOER Professor Emeritus University of California Berkeley, CA, USA	"For crucial conceptual research contributions to the behavior and the use of electrical circuits and systems."
2010 – HITOSHI WATANABE Prof. Emeritus, Dept of Info Systems Science, Soka University Tokyo, Japan	"For pioneering contributions to filter design theory and computer-aided circuit design."
2009 – ERNEST S. KUH William S. Floyd, Jr. Professor Emeritus in Engineering University of California Berkeley, CA, USA	"For outstanding contributions to theory and practice in circuits and systems and for pioneering work in electronics design automation."
2008 – ALFRED FETTWEIS Professor Emeritus, Lehrstuhl fuer Nachrichtentechnik Ruhr-Universität Bochum Germany	"For sustained contributions to circuits, systems, and signal processing, especially his seminal work on wave digital filters"
2007 - YANNIS P. TSIVIDIS	"For contributions to circuits and MOS device

modeling."

Dept of Electrical Engineering

Columbia University

IEEE GUSTAV R. KIRCHHOFF AWARD RECIPIENTS

New York, NY, USA

2006 – GABOR TEMES
School of EECS
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR, USA

"For fundamental contributions to analog signal processing techniques."

2005 – LEON CHUA Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences University of California Berkeley, CA, USA

"For seminal contributions to the foundation of nonlinear circuit theory, and for inventing Chua's Circuit and Cellular Networks, each spawning a new research area."