RECIPIENTS

2024 - WALTER WILLINGER Chief Scientist, NIKSUN, Inc., Princeton, New Jersey, USA "For contributions towards a foundational understanding of Internet traffic and topology."

2023 – IAN FOSTER
Scientist, Argonne National
Laboratory, Lemont, Illinois, USA

"For contributions to the design, deployment, and application of practical Internet-scale global computing platforms."

AND

CARL KESSELMAN
Professor, University of Southern
California, Marina del Rey,
California, USA

2022 - NO AWARD

2021 - NO AWARD

2020 – STEPHEN L. CASNER Retired Packet Design Fellow, Sunnyvale, California, USA "For distinguished leadership in developing standards for Internet multimedia, and formative contributions to the design of Internet multimedia protocols."

AND

EVE M. SCHOOLER
Principal Engineer and Director of
Emerging IoT Networks, Intel,
Santa Clara, California, USA

2019 – JENNIFER REXFORD
Professor, Princeton University,
Princeton, New Jersey, USA

"For fundamental contributions to the programmability, stability, and performance of large computer networks, and leadership within the networking community."

2018 - RAMESH GOVINDANS
Northrop-Grumman Chair in
Engineering, Professor of
Computer Science and Electrical
Engineering, University of
Southern California, Los Angeles,
California, USA

"For sustained contributions to the dynamic analysis of the Internet (protocols, topologies, configurations) and the Internet of Things (sensor networks)."

2017 - DEBORAH ESTRIN
Professor, Department of
Computer Science, Cornell NYC
Tech, New York, New York, USA

"For formative contributions and thought leadership in Internet routing and in mobile sensing techniques and applications, from

RECIPIENTS

environmental monitoring to personal and community health."

2016 – HENNING SCHULZRINNE Professor, Department of Computer Science, Columbia University, New York, New York, USA "For formative contributions to the design and standardization of Internet multimedia protocols and applications."

2015 – KC CLAFFY Principal Investigator, CAIDA, La Jolla, California, USA

AND

"For seminal contributions to the field of Internet measurement, including security and network data analysis, and for distinguished leadership in and service to the Internet community by providing openaccess data and tools."

VERN PAXSON
Professor, University of California,
Berkeley, California, USA

2014 – JON CROWCROFT
Professor, University of Cambridge,
Cambridge, United Kingdom

"For contributions to research in and teaching of Internet protocols, including multicast, transport, quality of service, security, mobility, and opportunistic networking."

2013 – DAVID MILLS
Adjunct Professor, University of Delaware, Newark, DE, USA

"For significant leadership and sustained contributions in the research, development, standardization, and deployment of quality time synchronization capabilities for the Internet."

2012 – MARK HANDLEY
Professor of Networked Systems,
Department of Computer Science,
University College London,
London, United Kingdom

"For contributions to Internet multicast, telephony, congestion control and the shaping of open Internet standards and open-source systems in all these areas."

2011 – JUN MURAI

Dean and Professor, Faculty of
Environment and Information
Studies, Keio University,
Kanagawa, Japan

"For his leadership in the development and deployment of the global Internet, especially across the Asia-Pacific region."

2010 – STEPHEN DEERING Cisco Fellow (Retired) West Vancouver, BC, Canada "For foundational contributions to the development of IP Multicast and IP version 6."

RECIPIENTS

2009 – LIXIA ZHANG
Professor, Computer Science Dept.
Univ of California at Los Angele
Los Angeles, CA, USA

"For contributions toward an understanding of the complex interactions between Internet components and the developer of the Internet architecture."

2008 - MICHAEL BRESCIA BBN Technologies Senior Scientist, Arlington, MA, USA "For pioneering work in the development of the first Internet routers"

AND

VIRGINIA TRAVERS BBN Technologies, Principal Investigator, Arlington, MA, USA

AND

ROBERT HINDEN Nokia Chief Internet Technologist, and Chief Technical Officer Palo Alto, CA, USA

2007 - NO AWARD

2006 – SCOTT SHENKER – Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, USA "For contributions towards an understanding of resource sharing on the Internet."

2005 – SALLY FLOYD Senior Scientist ICSI Center for Internet Research Berkeley, CA, USA "For contributions to the Internet architecture, particularly in the areas of congestion control, traffic modeling, and active queue management."

2004 – RAYMOND TOMLINSON Principal Engineer BBN Technologies Cambridge, MA, USA "For their key roles in the conceptualization, first implementation, and standardization of networked email."

AND

DAVID H. CROCKER Principal Brandenburg Consulting Sunnyvale, CA, USA

2003 - PAUL V. MOCKAPETRIS Nominium, Redwood City, CA, USA "For the design and initial implementation of the domain name system in collaboration with the late Jon Postel."

2002 – STEPHEN D. CROCKER CEO, Longitude Systems, Inc. Chantilly, Virginia, USA "For leadership in creation of key elements in open evolution of Internet protocols: Network Working Group, Request for

RECIPIENTS

Comments process and layered protocol approaches."

2001 – LOUIS H. POUZIN
Professor, Technology
THESEUS
Sopia, Antopolis, France

"For his pioneering development and effective advocacy of datagram networking, the technology that enabled the rapid, inexpensive, decentralized expansion of the Internet."

2000 – PAUL BARAN Chairman of the Board, Com21, Inc. Atherton, CA, USA "For their early, preeminent contributions in conceiving, analyzing and demonstrating packet switching networks, the foundation technology of the Internet."

AND

DONALD W. DAVIES Private Consultant Middlesex, United Kingdom

AND

LEONARD KLEINROCK Professor, University of California Los Angeles, CA, USA

AND

LAWRENCE ROBERTS Founder, Chairman & CTO Caspian Networks, Inc. Palo Alto, CA, USA