IEEE JAMES L. FLANAGAN SPEECH AND AUDIO PROCESSING AWARD RECIPIENTS

processing."

- 2024 KEIICHI TOKUDA Professor, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Nagoya, Japan
- 2023 ALEXANDER WAIBEL Professor, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA and Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany

2022 – NELSON MORGAN Researcher (Retired), International Computer Science Institute, and UC Berkeley, Phoenix, Arizona, USA technologies."

"For pioneering contributions to spoken

language translation and supporting

"For pioneering contributions to statistical

speech synthesis and speech signal

"For contributions to neural networks for statistical speech recognition."

AND

HERVÉ BOURLARD Director, IDAP Research Institute, Martigny, Switzerland

- 2021 DAVID NAHAMOO CTO, Pryon Inc., Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
- 2020 HYNEK HERMANSKY Julian S. Smith Professor and Director, John Hopkins University Baltimore, Maryland, USA
- 2019 HERMANN NEY Professor, RWTH Aachen University, Professor, Aachen, Germany
- 2018 MARI OSTENDORF Professor, Electrical Engineering Department, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington, USA

2017 – MARK YOFFE LIBERMAN Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Linguistics; Professor, Computer and Information Science; Director, "For contributions to and leadership in research and deployment of spokenlanguage technologies."

"For contributions to speech processing and feature extraction for robust speech recognition."

"For pioneering contributions to statistical and computational modeling for speech recognition and machine translation."

"For contributions to statistical and computational models for analysis, interpretation, and synthesis in speech and language processing."

"For pioneering contributions and continued leadership in robust, replicable, and data-driven speech and language science and engineering."

IEEE JAMES L. FLANAGAN SPEECH AND AUDIO PROCESSING AWARD RECIPIENTS

Linguistic Data Consortium; Faculty Director, Ware College House, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

- 2016 TAKEHIRO MORIYA NTT Fellow, Head of Moriya Research Lab, Atsugi, Kanagawa, Japan
- 2015 STEPHEN JOHN YOUNG Senior Pro Vice Chancellor, University of Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom

2014 – BIING-HWANG JUANG Motorola Foundation Chair Professor and GRA Eminent Scholar, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, USA

- 2013 VICTOR ZUE Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA
- 2012 JAMES BAKER Distinguished Career Professor, Carnegie Mellon University, Entrepreneur and Consultant, Maitland, FL, USA

AND JANET BAKER President, Chair of Saras Institute, Independent Researcher, Guest Lecturer in Entrepreneurship, Maitland, FL, USA

2011 – JULIA HIRSCHBERG Professor, Department of Computer Science, Columbia University, New York, NY, USA

2010 – SADAOKI FURUI Dean, Grad School of Info Science & "For contributions to speech and audio coding algorithms and standardization."

"For pioneering contributions to the theory and practice of automatic speech recognition and statistical spoken dialogue systems."

"For pioneering contributions to automatic speech recognition and speech coding."

"For pioneering contributions to acoustic phonetics and conversational spokenlanguage systems."

"For fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of automatic speech recognition."

"For pioneering contributions to speech synthesis and prosody research."

"For contributions to and leadership in the field of speech and speaker recognition

IEEE JAMES L. FLANAGAN SPEECH AND AUDIO PROCESSING AWARD RECIPIENTS

Engineering and Professor, Dept. of Comp Science, Tokyo Institute of Technology

- 2009 JOHN MAKHOUL Chief Scientist, BBN Technologies, Speech & Language Processing Dept, Cambridge, MA, USA
- 2008 RAJ REDDY Professor of CS and Robotics, Founding Director, Herbert A. Simon University, Carnegie Mellon University West Coast Campus, Pittsburgh, PA, USA
- 2007 ALLEN GERSHO Professor, ECE Department, University of California, Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA, USA
- 2006 James D. Johnston Audio Architect, Codecs Group Microsoft Corporation Redmond, WA, USA
- 2005 FREDERICK R. JELINEK Julian Sinclair Smith Prof. and Director, Johns Hopkins Univ. Baltimore, MD, USA
- 2004 GUNNAR FANT Department of Speech, Music and Hearing, KTH Stockholm, Sweden

AND

KENNETH N. STEVENS Clarence J. LeBel Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and Head, Speech Communication Group Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge, MA, USA towards natural communication between humans and machines."

"For pioneering contributions to speech modeling."

"For leadership and pioneering contributions to speech recognition, natural language understanding, and machine intelligence"

"For contributions to the theory and application of speech coding."

"For pioneering research in perceptual audio coding and contributions to its standardization."

"For fundamental contributions towards the statistical modeling of speech and language."

"For fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of acoustic phonetics and speech perception."