IEEE ELECTROMAGNETICS AWARD

RECIPIENTS

2024 – KAMAL SARABANDI
Fawwaz T. Ulaby Distinguished
University Professor of Electrical
Engineering and Computer Science,
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor,
Michigan, USA

"For contributions to electromagnetic sensing technology and metamaterials for antenna miniaturization."

2023 – JOHN WILLIAM BANDLER
Professor Emeritus, Department of
Electrical & Computer Engineering,
McMaster University, Ontario,
Canada

"For contributions to electromagnetic optimization and the modeling of high-frequency structures, circuits, and devices."

2022 – ARTHUR D. YAGHJIAN
Electromagnetics Research
Consultant, S4-Inc., Bedford,
Massachusetts, USA

"For contributions to fundamental electromagnetic theory and its applications to near-field antenna measurements."

2021 - CONSTANTINE A. BALANIS
Regents' Professor of Electrical
Engineering, School of Electrical,
Computer and Energy Engineering,
Arizona State University, Tempe,
Arizona, USA

"For contributions to electromagnetics through excellence in book authorship, teaching, and antenna research."

2020 - TAPAN KUMAR SARKAR Professor, Syracuse University, Dewitt, New York, USA "For contributions to the efficient and accurate solution of computational electromagnetic problems in frequency and time domain, and for research in adaptive antennas."

2019 – RICHARD W. ZIOLKOWSKI Distinguished Professor, University of Technology Sydney, Ultimo, Australia "For contributions to electromagnetic metamaterial-inspired physics and engineering, and localized wave phenomena."

2018 – TATSUO ITOH
Distinguished Professor and
Northrop Grumman Chair in
Electrical Engineering, University of
California, Los Angeles, California,
USA

"For contributions to electromagnetic modelling, artificial materials, microwave electronics, and antennas."

2017 – WENG CHO CHEW
Professor, University of Illinois,
Urbana-Champaign (UIUC), Urbana,
Illinois, USA

"For contributions to electromagnetic solutions of complex multiphysics problems and inverse scattering methods."

IEEE ELECTROMAGNETICS AWARD

RECIPIENTS

2016 - GIORGIO FRANCESCHETTI Professor Emeritus, University Federico II, Napoli, Italy "For leadership in the academic world, teaching, research, and scientific activities in advanced electromagnetics."

2015 – DONALD WILTON
Professor Emeritus, University of
Houston, Houston, Texas, USA

"For fundamental contributions to integral equation methods in computational electromagnetics."

2014 – ALLEN TAFLOVE
Professor of Electrical Engineering
and Computer Science,
Northwestern University,
Evanston, Illinois, USA

"For contributions to the development and application of finite-difference time-domain (FDTD) solutions of Maxwell's equations across the electromagnetic spectrum."

2013 – LEUNG TSANG Professor of Electrical Engineering, University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA "For contributions to statistical electromagnetic theory and applications in remote sensing of complex geophysical environments."

2012 – NADER ENGHETA
H. Nedwill Ramsey Professor of
Electrical and Systems Engineering
and Professor of Bioengineering,
University of Pennsylvania,
Philadelphia, PA, USA

"For contributions to electromagnetic theory and applications of metamaterials and nanoscale optics."

2011 – YAHYA RAHMAT-SAMII
Distinguished Professor of Electrical
Engineering, University of
California, and Northrop Grumman
Chair Professor in Electromagnetics,
Los Angeles, CA, USA

"For fundamental contributions to reflector antennas, near-field measurements and diagnostics, antenna and human interactions, and optimization algorithms in electromagnetics."

2010 – THOMAS B. A. SENIOR Emeritus Professor, EECS Dept. Univ of Michigan Ann Arbor, MI, USA "For significant contributions to the advancement of electromagnetic diffraction and scattering theories."

2009 – KENNETH K. MEI Professor and Chair of Applied Electromagnetics, City University of Hong Kong, Kowloon, Hong Kong "For contributions to computational electromagnetics and Maxwellian circuits."

2008 – WERNER WIESBECK,
Director of Institute fur
Hochstfrequenztechnik und
Elektronik (IHE) Universitat
Karlsruhe (TH), Karlsruhe Institute

"For innovative electromagnetic applications in communication systems, remote sensing, and EM compatibility."

IEEE ELECTROMAGNETICS AWARD RECIPIENTS

of Technology (KIT), Keltern, Germany

2007 – CARL EDWARD BAUM

Department of ECE, University of

New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM, USA

"For contributions to fundamental principles and techniques in electromagnetics."

2006 – RAJ MITTRA
Professor of EE, Penn State Univ
University Park, PA, USA

"For contributions to research and education in computational electromagnetics."

2005 – CLAYTON R. PAUL
Sam Nunn Eminent Professor,
Aerospace Engineering and Professor
of Electrical and Computer
Engineering
Mercer University School of
Engineering
Macon, GA, USA

"For excellence in the advancement of electromagnetic theory towards solving crosstalk problems in transmission lines and cable assemblies."

2004 – JIN AU KONG Professor, Dept of Elec Engrg Massachusetts Inst of Technology Cambridge, MA, USA "For contributions to fundamental electromagnetic theory and its advanced applications, especially to remote sensing and geophysical probing."

2003 – LEOPOLD B. FELSEN Professor, Boston University Boston, MA, USA "For innovative contributions to asymptotic and phase space methods for high frequency and short pulse electromagnetics in complex environments and interdisciplinary fields."

2002 – ROBERT C. HANSEN RC Hansen, Inc. Tarzana, CA, USA "For contributions to phased array antennas, and to superconducting, superdirective, and electrically small antennas."

2001 – FAWWAZ T. ULABY University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MI, USA "For contributions to microwave remote sensing and technology, its geoscientific applications, and related education."

2000 - ROGER F. HARRINGTON University of Arizona Tucson, AZ, USA "For pioneering the application of the Method of Moments to computational electromagnetics, and contributions to electromagnetics education."

1999 – ROBERT E. COLLIN Case Western University Cleveland, OH, USA "For significant contributions to electromagnetics as a multi-disciplinary engineering profession."