## **IEEE MARIE SKLODOWSKA-CURIE AWARD**

## **RECIPIENTS**

2024 - RICHARD E. CARSON
Professor of Radiology and
Biomedical Imaging and of
Biomedical Engineering; Director of
Graduate Studies, Biomedical
Engineering, Yale University, New
Haven, Connecticut, USA

"For contributions to image reconstruction and tracer kinetic analysis in positron emission tomography."

2023 - JANET L. BARTH

Member - Board of Advisors, MERC

Aerospace (Miller Engineering &

Research Corporation), Greenbelt,

Maryland, USA

"For leadership of and contributions to the advancement of the design, building, deployment, and operation of capable, robust space systems."

2022 – THOMAS M. ANTONSEN, JR.
Distinguished University Professor,
Departments of Electrical and
Computer Engineering and Physics,
University of Maryland, College
Park, Maryland, USA

"For seminal contributions to theoretical plasma physics and radiation science, and for the development of design codes for vacuum electronics devices."

2021 – MICHEL DEFRISE Retired Professor, Brussels, Belgium "For key developments in image reconstruction for positron emission tomography and x-ray computed tomography."

2020 – MICHAEL A. LIEBERMAN
Professor of the Graduate School,
University of California, Berkeley,
California, USA

"For groundbreaking research and sustained intellectual leadership in the physics of low-temperature plasmas and their application."

2019 - SANJIV GAMBHIR
Professor and Chairman,
Department of Radiology, Stanford
University, Stanford, California,
USA

"For the development of nuclear and optical science in the field of molecular imaging and cancer treatment."

2018 - DAVID ROBERT NYGREN
Presidential Distinguished
Professor, Department of Physics,
University of Texas, Arlington,
Texas, USA

"For pioneering radiation detector developments, enabling major discoveries in diverse areas of science."

2017 - CHANDRASHEKHAR JOSHI
Distinguished Chancellor's
Professor, University of California,
Los Angeles, Los Angeles,
California, USA

"For groundbreaking contributions to and leadership in the field of plasma particle accelerators."

## IEEE MARIE SKLODOWSKA-CURIE AWARD RECIPIENTS

2016 - SIMON R. CHERRY
Professor, Department of
Biomedical Engineering, University
of California, Davis, California, USA

"For contributions to the development and application of in vivo molecular imaging systems."

2015 – NOAH HERSHKOWITZ Professor Emeritus, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin, USA "For innovative research and inspiring education in basic and applied plasma science."

2014 – MALCOLM H. HUDSON Emeritus Professor, Department of Statistics, Macquarie University, Australia "For developing maximum-likelihood image reconstruction in emission tomography leading to its widespread and effective use in healthcare."

AND

BRIAN F. HUTTON
Professor, Chair of Medical Physics
in Nuclear Medicine and Molecular
Imaging Science, Institute of
Nuclear Medicine, Division
of Medicine, University College
London, London, United Kingdom

AND

LAWRENCE A. SHEPP Patrick T. Harker Professor of Statistics, Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania and Department of Statistics, Rutgers University, Piscataway, NJ USA

2013 - VELJKO RADEKA
Senior Electronics Engineer,
Head of Instrumentation Division,
Brookhaven National Laboratory,
Upton, NY, USA

"For the development of new radiation detectors, electronics, and systems that operate at the fundamental limits of performance, enabling discoveries in many areas of science."

2012 – GENNADY ANDREEVICH MESYATS
Director, Lebedev Physics
Institute, Russian Academy of
Sciences and Vice President,
Russian Academy of Sciences,
Moscow, Russia

"For founding the field of nanosecond pulsed power and for seminal contributions to the physics of vacuum breakdown at high power levels."

2011 - CHARLES KENNEDY (NED)
BIRDSALL
Professor Emeritus, University of
California, Berkeley, CA, USA

"For theoretical investigations and fundamental discoveries involving microwave tubes, electron beam physics and particle-incell simulation of plasma physics."