Agenda 2021 VIC Summit and Honors Ceremony May 11-13, 2021



Tuesday, 11 May

7:30AM EDT Explore Virtual Platform

8:20AM EDT General Session – Auditorium Doors Open

8:30AM-9:40AM EDT General Session

Welcome

• Kathy Land, IEEE President and CEO

Technology for the Aging Population

Stephen Ewell, Executive Director of the Consumer

Technology Association Foundation

Dolby's Journey Embracing Technology Disruptions

• Mike Hollier, VP Technology Innovation at Dolby Labs

8:45AM-11:50AM EDT Networking Lounge/IEEE.tv Open

9:45AM EDT Award Presentations – Halls A, B, and C Doors Open

9:50AM-10:05AM EDT Award Presentations

Hall A - IEEE Mildred Dresselhaus Medal, Kristina M. Johnson **Hall B** - IEEE Richard W. Hamming Medal, Raymond W. Yeung

Hall C - IEEE Edison Medal, Kenichi Iga

10:10AM-10:25AM EDT Award Presentations

Hall A - IEEE Corporate Innovation Award, Taiwan Semiconductor

Manufacturing Company, Ltd.

Hall B - IEEE/RSE James Clerk Maxwell Medal, Evelyn L. Hu

Hall C - James H. Mulligan, Jr. Education Medal, John D. Cressler

10:55AM EDT General Session – Auditorium Doors Open

11:05AM-12:00PM EDT General Session

Renewables: Role in the Future

Glenn Zorpette, Executive Editor of IEEE Spectrum
 Magazine

 Ken McIntryre, Executive Director at the Midcontinent Independent System Operator (MISO)

 Mary Reidy, Principal Performance Manager at National Grid

Award Presentation of the IEEE Medal of Honor, Jacob Ziv

Wednesday, 12 May	
5:30PM EDT	Explore Virtual Platform
6:20PM EDT	General Session – Auditorium Doors Open
6:30PM-7:35PM EDT	General Session
	 Welcome Ray Liu, IEEE President-Elect Imagination meets Innovation Jonathan Chew, Creative Producer for Walt Disney Imagineering Telehealth: World-Changing Technology Kent Dicks, CEO and Founder of Life365 Inc. Pradeep Ray, Director of the Centre For Entrepreneurship at the University of Michigan Joint Institute in Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
6:35PM-9:50PM EDT	Networking Lounge/IEEE.tv Open
7:35PM EDT	Award Presentations – Halls A, B, and C Doors Open
7:40PM-7:55PM EDT	Award Presentations
	Hall A - IEEE Robert N. Noyce Medal, Lisa T. Su Hall B - IEEE Theodore W. Hissey Outstanding Young Professional Award, Kartik Kulkarni Hall C - IEEE Honorary Membership, Edward C. Stone
8:00PM-8:15PM EDT	Award Presentations
	Hall A - IEEE Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal, Emmanuel Candès, Terence Chi-Shen Tao and Justin Romberg Hall B - IEEE Simon Ramo Medal, Elisabeth Paté-Cornell Hall C - IEEE John von Neumann Medal, Jeffrey Dean
8:20PM-8:30PM EDT	Award Presentations
	Hall A - IEEE Spectrum Technology in the Service of Society Award, Ellume IEEE Spectrum Emerging Technology Award, Relativity
8:30PM EDT	General Session – Auditorium Doors Open

General Session – Auditorium Doors Open

8:40PM-10:00PM EDT **General Session**

Embracing a New Normal in Engineering Education

• Jayashri Ravishankar, Deputy Head of School at UNSW, Sydney

Diversity & Inclusion: Insights, Challenges and the Future

- Karen Panetta, Dean of Graduate Education for the School of Engineering, Tufts University | IEEE Fellow
- Rashi Gupta, Founder, Vision Mechatronics Private Ltd
- Mandeep Rai, Author of *The Values Compass*
- Melissa Sassi, IBM Z's Chief Penguin
- Karl Reid, Senior Vice Provost and Chief Inclusion Officer at Northeastern University

11:00AM EDT	Explore Virtual Platform
11:50AM EDT	General Session – Auditorium Doors Open
12:00PM-12:10PM EDT	General Session
	Welcome • Stephen Welby, IEEE Executive Director Recognition of 2020 IEEE Honors Ceremony Recipients
12:15PM EDT	Award Presentations – Halls A, B, and C Doors Open
12:20PM-3:50PM	Networking Lounge/IEEE.tv Open
12:20PM-12:35PM EDT	Award Presentations
	Hall A - IEEE Medal in Power Engineering, Praveen K. Jain Hall B - IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal, Nick McKeown Hall C - IEEE Dennis J. Picard Medal for Radar Technologies and Applications, Simon Haykin
12:40PM-12:55PM EDT	Award Presentations
	Hall A - IEEE Medal for Environment and Safety Technologies, Kaushik Rajashekara Hall B - IEEE Jun-ichi Nishizawa Medal, James J. Coleman Hall C - IEEE Founders Medal, Henry Samueli
1:00PM-1:15PM EDT	Award Presentations
	Hall A - IEEE Medal for Innovations in Healthcare Technology, Ruzena Bajcsy Hall B - IEEE Haraden Pratt Award, Evelyn H. Hirt Hall C - IEEE Richard M. Emberson Award, Lewis M. Terman
1:55PM EDT	General Session – Auditorium Doors Open
2:05PM-4:00PM EDT	General Session

Thursday, 13 May

Cyber Security Awareness

- Mike Davis, Chief Information Security Officer, alliantgroup
- Ann Delenela, VP of Information Security, Entergy
- Diogo Mónica, Co-Founder and President of Anchorage

A Vision for the Future

• Jeff Blankenburg, Principal Technical Evangelist, Alexa at Amazon

How XR Medical Applications Are Transforming Healthcare

- Cory Heizenrader, President and CEO of Heizenrader LLC, and VRARA Chair for Healthcare
- Mark Wehde, Chair of the Mayo Clinic Division of Engineering

Closing Remarks

• Kathy Land, IEEE President and CEO

