Arijit Raychowdhury

Lunch Speaker

Arijit Raychowdhury is the Steve W. Chaddick School Chair in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) at Georgia Tech. He previously held the Motorola Solutions Foundation Professorship. He joined the ECE faculty as anassociate professor in January 2013 and held the ON Semiconductor Junior Professorship from 2015 to 2019.

As the School’s chief academic officer, Raychowdhury oversees a School that is consistently ranked as one of thenation’s most prominent programs of its kind in both graduate and undergraduate education. The School of ECE is one ofthe largest producers of electrical and computer engineers in the United States, with more than 2,500 undergraduate andgraduate students and approximately 100 faculty members.

He is the director of the Center for the Co-Design of Cognitive Systems (CoCoSys), a Joint University MicroelectronicsProgram 2.0. Prior to joining Georgia Tech, Raychowdhury held research positions at Intel Corporation for six years andat Texas Instruments for one-and-a-half years. He received his Ph.D. degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering fromPurdue University in 2007. His research interests include low power digital and mixed-signal circuit design, design ofspecialized accelerators, power converters, signal-processors, and exploring the interactions of circuits with devicetechnologies. His significant contributions to the semiconductor industry include the design of the world’s firstadaptive echo-cancellation
network for integrated DSLs at Texas Instruments, and several foundational technologies inmemory and logic design at Intel that have been widely used in the industry.

Raychowdhury holds more than 27 U.S. and international patents and has published over 250 articles in journals andrefereed conferences. He is currently a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society (SSCS) and thesite director for the DoD-sponsored SCALE Workforce development program in SoC Design. He serves on the TechnicalProgram Committees and Organization Committees of key circuits and design conferences, including ISSCC,
VLSISymposium, DAC, and CICC.

Raychowdhury and his students have won 14 best paper awards over the years. He is the winner of several prestigiousawards, including the Semiconductor Research Corporation’s Technical Excellence Award in 2021, Qualcomm FacultyAwards in 2021 and 2020, IEEE/ACM Innovator under 40 Award in 2018, Roger P. Webb Outstanding Junior FacultyAward in 2018, Intel Young Faculty Award in 2015, the NSF CISE Research Initiation Initiative Award (CRII) in 2015, IntelLabs Technical Contribution Award in 2011, Dimitris N. Chorafas
Award in 2007, the Best Thesis Award from the College of Engineering at Purdue University in 2007, and several fellowships. Raychowdhury is a Fellow of the IEEE.