IEEE Richard W. Hamming Medal

Presented to

An individual or team, up to three in number.


For exceptional contributions to information sciences, systems and technology.


The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and cash honorarium.

Basis for Judging

In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: originality, breadth, impact on technology, patents/publications, and the quality of the nomination.

The scope includes information transmission, coding, storage, and recovery. Subject areas include information theory, coding theory, data communication, computer networks, data storage and retrieval, and image and speech understanding.

View Award Recipients