IEEE Nikola Tesla Award

Presented to

An individual or a team up to three


For outstanding contributions to the generation and utilization of electric power


The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging

In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: impact on technology, inventive value, breadth of use, leadership, and quality of the nomination. “Generation” areas may include: automation, instrumentation, control, generation planning, alternative forms (e.g., wind, solar, fuel cells, and space power), conservation, safety, and reliability. “Utilization” areas may include: conservation, biomedical (e.g., MRI, focused ultrasound, etc.), life quality improvement for the handicapped, manufacturing systems, and robotronics.

View Award Recipients