IEEE Awards Honoring Women Who Are Making a Difference in Engineering

Women continuously make important contributions to science and technology, and IEEE is recognizing many of these great scientists, engineers, and educators in 2021 for their trailblazing accomplishments with IEEE Technical Field Awards (TFAs), Medals, and Recognitions.

The IEEE TFAs are awarded for contributions to or leadership in specific fields of interest of the IEEE. IEEE is honoring the following women with TFAs in 2021:

IEEE Medals and Recognitions are the highest awards that the IEEE presents on behalf of the Board of Directors and embrace significant and broad IEEE interests and purposes. The following women are being honored with Medals and Recognitions in 2021:

  • Kristina M. Johnson is receiving the 2021 IEEE Mildred Dresselhaus Medal “for leadership and technical contributions spanning academia, government, and business.” This award is being presented for the first time and is sponsored by Google LLC.
  • Ruzena Bajcsy is receiving the 2021 IEEE Medal for Innovations in Healthcare Technology, sponsored by the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society, “for pioneering and sustained contributions to healthcare technology fundamental to computer vision, medical imaging, and computational anatomy.”
  • The IEEE/RSE James Clerk Maxwell Medal is being presented to Evelyn L. Hu “for leadership in nanoscale science and engineering, and for seminal contributions at the intersection of semiconductor electronics and photonics.” The medal is sponsored by ARM, Ltd.
  • The IEEE Robert N. Noyce Medal, sponsored by Intel Corporation, is being presented to Lisa T. Su “for leadership in ground-breaking semiconductor products and successful business strategies that contributed to the strength of the microelectronics industry.” Su is the first female recipient of the Noyce Medal.
  • Elisabeth Paté-Cornell is receiving the IEEE Simon Ramo Medal “for sustained leadership in developing theory and applications of probability risk analysis for the design and evaluation of complex engineering systems.” This medal is sponsored by Northrop Grumman Corporation.
  • Evelyn H. Hirt is receiving the IEEE Haraden Pratt Award, sponsored by the IEEE Foundation, “for steadfast service and leadership dedicated to the IEEE mission and members across all corporate, geographic, technical, and educational levels.”